The Journey Thus Far…

Hey there internet people…

After a long hiatus I’m jumping back into the blogging world. Hold your applause, please. I know you must be bursting at the seams…

Anyway with my debut novel, Harbinger, slated to be released soon as a paperback book, I thought I’d give a recap on my crazy publishing journey. Nothing worth achieving comes easily, but it’s been a long road and at a few junctures I considered giving up. The adversity has changed my perspective, outlook, and method when it comes to writing and frankly everything else.
That’s one of the best things about life – it’s always changing and we can always learn from what we’ve experienced. Who we are and where we are going isn’t static, and there’s always room to wonder about the future.

Okay, enough philosophical bullshit. Here’s what I promised.

June 2011: Started Harbinger, my first serious endeavor into novel writing. Inspired by the writing and style of Stephen King, it emanated some of his themes.

October 31st 2011: Finished the first draft of Harbinger, began querying agents.

December 2011: After countless rejections, receive a phone call from Adrienne Lombardo of Trident Media Group. We discuss possible representation and I nearly have a heart attack.

January 17th 2012: I agree to be represented by Adrienne Lombardo and Trident Media Group, one of the largest and most successful agencies in the world. I think my dream of writing stardom is about to come true.

January 2012 – July 2012: I’m in purgatory. After receiving a positive blurb from New York Times Best Seller Jonathan Maberry, Adrienne shops my novel to no avail, each editor having a different issue. I was considered by Penguin, Random House, and a few other big companies. Each time my hopes were dashed and it stung a little more. Perhaps none more so than the rejection from 47North, where the editor went back and forth for three weeks (and even authorized an advance for me) before ultimately rejecting it. So close but yet so far.

July 2012 – October 2012: With the outlook on Harbinger fading, Adrienne and I focus on my other works and attempting to land them with a publisher. Two of my novels, Harrow House and Sheep’s Clothing, are in good enough shape to throw out there. She sends them out to a couple of editors but the results are the same.

October 16th 2012: Adrienne convinces me to release Harbinger through Trident Media Group’s E-Publishing Service. It is an exciting time and I finally get to share Harbinger with the world. The sales are moderate, but without adequate marketing it is difficult to spread the word. The reviews that pore in are largely positive.

November 2012: Adrienne informs me she is leaving Trident Media Group to become an acquisitions editor for an audio book company. I am left high and dry with no other agents at Trident interested in me or my work.

November 2012- January 2013: While focusing on my other works I am bounced around Trident Media Group, with John Silbersack handling Harbinger. He ultimately isn’t interested in my other works however.

March 2013: I contact my friends at Hobbes End Publishing, a passionate and dedicated independent press, and find out they are interested in publishing Harbinger. With Silbersack unwilling to represent any of my other works I decide to end my relationship with Trident Media Group and have Harbinger re-released as a paperback and e-book with Hobbes End.

March 2013 – Present : Worked on touching up my other projects and landing representation. Worked with Hobbes End to develop Harbinger. The release date was slated to be in October, but due to some setbacks it may have to wait until November. It’s been quite a ride trying to get Harbinger out there in paperback form but now I’m excited to say my dream will become a reality. I hope you all enjoy reading Harbinger and will share it with your family and friends!

And now we’re to the present. My next post will be a sneek peek at the early cover design for Harbinger. Feel free to share it and let me know what you think. I’m feeling pretty good about it!

Keep being awesome,
David

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

