The Wisest Man

Falling back on Socrates’ sentiments, I have to say that the wisest man is the one who realizes he knows nothing.

Ain’t that a paradox? What the hell are you talking about Dave? More impractical, philosophical bullshit huh?

Well, maybe, but this time I think I’m onto something. I find that life is a process of knowing then unknowing. You realize things, you develop your opinions, refine your methods, and then after a long period of time realize the error of your ways. Whether it be how you were looking at something or a style of living – we all realize our biases, flaws, errors of judgement, and adjust based on new information. Who we are certainly isn’t static – our personalities are constantly evolving, affected by changes in our setting and those around us.

When I was a kid, I would have sworn to you I’d never like girls. I’d claim that they were lame and I’d never have any interest in them.

Boy, how that’s changed. Sometimes I struggle to keep my jaw up when a fine looking lady strolls by. And see, that’s what I mean…I thought I knew. I thought I had myself figured out. I thought I knew how the world worked, and I was wrong.

People think they know “correct” political stance. And they’re wrong.

People think they know the absolute religious truths. And they’re wrong.

People think they know how others should live. And they’re wrong.

Wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong.

Where the hell am I going? Am I trying to discredit knowledge? No, all I’m trying to say is…

There’s a lot of bad things done in this world by people who have convinced themselves they are right. They think they know what they’re doing or talking about and they make a mess for themselves and others when things go awry. Bullheadedness, stubbornness, and the refusal to analyze and consider other perspectives has led to a great deal of grief for people in this world.

Is it going to change? Eh, I don’t think so. And I’m not standing up here on a soapbox either…I make the same mistakes. I am prone to bouts pride. I’ve realized I’ve been more guilty than many of those I’ve accused, so if there’s one thing I want anyone to take out of this rant it is…

Take a moment and think. Maybe you don’t know the answer. Maybe there’s validity in what someone else is trying to say. Maybe you should consider your biases, why you have them, and where they are taking you, because although our beliefs, opinions, and actions help constitute who we are, existence is not subject to us. You and I are the supreme all-knowers, and that bit of wonder that remains in the world, well that makes it all the more beautiful.

Thanks peeps.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

