Maturity

I’ll keep this one short, it’s really just a fleeting thought…

I’ve been stubborn, bullheaded, selfish, and short sighted. We all have at some point, and many of us still are. Sometimes we outgrow these petulant thoughts and biases but never realize we ever had them.

I’m a twenty-three year old grad student and I still have plenty of growing up to do. The last few months of my life have been some of the most revealing to me, and I’ve undergone quite a transformation in my attitudes and perspective. I was once so sure I had things figured out but recent events have turned my world upside down. I’d been lying to myself, and lying for a long time at that.

It feels good to say it. I’m not perfect and that’s a great thing – I can keep getting better every day. Life’s too short to be closed minded and cynical. I’m starting to open my mind not only to the world, but my own feelings, and it’s liberating. The personal growth I’ve gone through in the last year is astounding and I’m proud of myself for breaking down barriers.
I still have a long way to go, but that’s life isn’t it? There’s always more. Always a new adventure around the corner.

For the first time in a long time I’m satisfied with myself and where I am going. And because I can’t help but mention it, keep your eyes open for my debut novel Harbinger, set to be released soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Maturity

  1. Pingback: Preface | academicstories

  2. good for you on finding your place and thanks for liking my words.

Leave a Reply

