A game of chance…

I think life is a lot like poker. Stay with me on this one. I’m not talking Kenny Rodgers stuff here, but more so…

Life is a game of chance. At any time almost anything can happen, and sometimes there’s not a thing we can do about it. We can play our hand just right only to have our fate change on the last card. Sometimes it’s unavoidable – you do everything right and you still get screwed.

I think some people take this the wrong way. Yes, bad things happen to good people, and yes, good things happen to bad people, but it’s not a quota system. There’s no personal vendetta against you and there’s no reason to rue existence. There are countless simultaneous processes occurring, and sometimes things just don’t line up for you. Sometimes all you can do is put yourself in the best position for good things to happen and hope the odds play out. But the odds are just as likely for every bad beat you take for you to strike magic, so don’t get down.

Things have been rough in my life over the last few years. I’ve taken some heavy hits and the day to day wear often gets to me. In the end though, I know I’m playing my hand right, and that if I keep up with a winning strategy it will pay off one day. Be true to yourself and live a life you’re proud of – don’t let life’s quirks get you down.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

