The Process

A hefty part of my year has been devoted to writing and editing my novel, Sinners’ Saint, in my opinion the greatest thing I’ve ever written (or even accomplished). I’m happy to say that an agent has requested I revise and resubmit it to her, because she loves the story but doesn’t like its wordiness and pace. Time for the 4th full edit! It’s always an adventure going back and tearing up a manuscript. Part of me doesn’t want to touch it (it’s like my child) but I realize that I’m making it better.

It shouldn’t be out there until it reaches its full potential…and we are certainly on our way there. 3,000 words have been nixed from the first 50 pages and I’m sure there will be plenty more to go. This 126,000 word behemoth will have to come down to about 110,000 if it’s going to have any sort of good pacing.

Want to help me out? I love beta reader opinions. Let me know if your’e interested. I will love you long time if you help me. Seriously…you’d be so awesome.

In other news…my debut novel Harbinger is slated to be out within the next few months. Get excited people!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “The Process

  1. Congrats on having your novel accepted by an agent! That is one hurdle crossed. šŸ™‚ What is the novel about?

    • Hello Tiffany!

      There’s actually a long history with me and agents…I was once represented by Trident Media Group, but my agent moved on into the world of audio books and I was left out to dry. Right now I only have my foot in the door; she hasn’t agreed to represent me but it’s a great feeling knowing she wants to look at a revised version of my novel.

      My current project is about a college dropout who is swept into an underground, fight the power style, counter cultural society, led by a mysterious, poetic figure intent on changing the world. The main character gets caught up in a movement and experiences things he couldn’t have imagined. It’s philosophical…kind of like Fight Club but less gritty. It’s been a wild project that I hope gets to see the light of day!

      I also have a horror novel soon to be released through an independent publisher!

      • That is too bad about Trident Media…but at least you’re on track again and almost there! I really hope it works out.

        Oh, sounds interesting. Is it a bit of a thriller? The first thing that came to mind of V for Vendetta. Sounds like a wild ride to be sure, and thought-provoking to boot!

        Oh, congrats on the horror novel! Sounds like you’ve got good things going on in your writing life. šŸ™‚ Here’s to hoping they stay that way and only continue to get better!

  2. jewelbarnett

    Congrats! Thanks for following my blog. I will probably have more questions for you soon.

  3. Congrats on being published!

  4. Keep the pedal to the metal..talent will always shine xxx

  5. Tiffany,
    I think V for Vendetta is an apt comparison, certainly less extreme but many similar themes! That’s why I have to cut it down…for this to be commercial in any regard it needs to have a pace more similar to a thriller. Right now it’s overly literary/intellectual.

    And thanks so much for the kind words of support everyone! šŸ™‚ It’s a breath of fresh air to receive it after all I’ve been through in this process

Leave a Reply

